CCC2018: Central FC, Portmore United advance to finals
Portmore United (blue jersey) is still in contention for its second Caribbean Club Championship title. (Photo: Alfonso Conde)

COUVA, Trinidad & Tobago - First-round play in the 2018 CONCACAF Caribbean Cub Championship (CCCC) concluded Sunday at the Estadio Cibao FC, with Central FC and Portmore United earning berths in the finals. summarizes the Tier 1, Group B action:

Portmore United (Jamaica) 0, Racing FC (Haiti) 1
- Previously-eliminated Racing FC topped Portmore United, 1-0, for its only win of the competition after two straight losses.
- A fine individual effort in the left side of the box by Daniel Jamesley (27') was the game's only goal.
- Portmore United finished in a tie for second place with Atlantico FC (4 points each), but advanced by virtue of having superior goal difference (+1 to 0).

Atlantico FC (Dominican Republic) 0, Central FC (Trinidad & Tobago) 1
- Central FC needed to beat Atlantico FC in order to progress and did just that, earnin a 1-0 win Yoan Melo's own-goal in the second half (60').
- The two-time champion Sharks posted two straight wins by shutout, after opening play with a 2-0 loss to Portmore United.
- Atlantico FC finished the game with 10 players following Yelson Molina's ejection in second-half stoppage time (90'+4).

The Competition
Central FC and Portmore United join Group A winner Club Atletico Pantoja (Dominican Republic) and runner-up Arnett Gardens (Jamaica) in the CCC finals, with the champion gaining a place in the 2019 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, while the runner-up and third place finishers will qualify for the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF League.

The fourth-place side will face the winner of the Tier 2 tournament -- Caribbean Club Shield -- in a playoff to determine the third club that will represent the Caribbean in the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF League.  The Tier 2 champion, however, must comply with the minimum CONCACAF Club Licensing requirements to secure participation.

Cibao FC (Dominican Republic) is current champion, defeating San Juan Jabloteh (Trinidad & Tobago), 1-0, in the 2017 final.

First Round

GROUP A (Ato Boldon Stadium - Couva, Trinidad & Tobago)

Table (GP-W-D-L-GF-GA-Pts.)
Club Atletico Pantoja 3-2-1-0-6-0-7
Arnett Gardens 3-1-1-1-5-2-4
W Connection 3-1-0-2-2-5-3
Real Hope Football Academy 3-1-0-2-1-7-3

January 31, 2018
Club Atletico Pantoja 0, Arnett Gardens 0

W Connection 0, Real Hope Football Academy 1
Johnson Jeudy 3'

February 2, 2018
Real Hope Football Academy 0, Club Atletico Pantoja 3
Luis Espinal 35', 59'; Armando Maita 41'

W Connection 2, Arnett Gardens 1
Marcus Joseph 2', 13' / Fabian Reid 62' pen

February 4, 2018
Arnett Gardens 4, Real Hope Football Academy 0
Fabian Reid 65', 86' pen, 90'+2; Leon Strickland 90'

W Connection 0, Club Atletico Pantoja 3
Luis Espinal 27'; Armando Maita 37'; Jean Carlos Lopez 65' pen

GROUP B (Estadio Cibao - Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic)

Table (GP-W-D-L-GF-GA-Pts.)
Central FC 3-2-0-1-4-2-6
Portmore United 3-1-1-1-4-3-4
Atlantico FC 3-1-1-1-4-4-4
Racing FC 3-1-0-2-2-5-0

February 7, 2018
Central FC 0, Portmore United 2
Ricardo Morris 47'; Jermie Lynch 86'

Atlantico FC 2, Racing FC 1
Engelbert Briceño 7' pen; Jarol Herrera 16' / Charles Bendy 27'

February 9, 2018
Racing FC 0, Central FC 3
Jason Marcano 11'; own-goal, Paul Marckendel (40'); Tyrone Charles (49')

Atlantico FC 2, Portmore United 2
Herlyn Cuica 77', 87' / Javon East 41'; Ewan Grandison 72' pen

February 11, 2018
Portmore United 0, Racing FC 1
Daniel Jamesley 27'

Atlantico FC 0, Central FC 1
own-goal, Yoan Melo 60'