Jara named Scotiabank CCL Golden Ball winner

Pachuca's Franco Jara (pictured) was named winner of the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Golden Ball award. (Photo: Mexsport)

PACHUCA, Mexico – Thanks to his excellent performances throughout the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, especially during the knockout rounds, Pachuca’s Franco Jara earned the Scotiabank Golden Ball award.

Jara appeared in eight of the Tuzos’ 10 games during their run to the title, netting six goals (four from the quarterfinals through the final)  – including the game-winner in the final, second leg -- and registering four assists.  

The 28-year-old forward is the fourth straight Argentinean to capture the SCCL’s highest honor.  Last year, Club America’s Rubens Sambueza was selected as the recipient, while his teammate Dario Benedetto took home the prize after the 2014/15 edition.


Scotiabank Golden Ball winners

2008/09 - 2010/11: not awarded

2011/12: Oribe Peralta, Santos

2012/13: Aldo de Nigris, Monterrey

2013/14: Mariano Pavone, Cruz Azul

2014/15: Dario Benedetto, Club America

2015/16: Rubens Sambueza, Club America

2016/17: Franco Jara, Pachuca